Academic Oasis

Uncategorized

A few years ago I moved in with a very good linguist friend of mine named Ariel. To give you an idea of how dorky we were together, I have a charm from her that represents the single phoneme that separates our names. Erienne [ɛriɛn] and Ariel [ɛriɛl]. Anyway, we called our shared abode “The Academic Oasis”. Of course plenty of non-academic things transpired there, but we *did* get down with the academia quite frequently. I have since moved out of “The Academic Oasis” only to move to… an academic oasis (Oxford). I want you to see how breathtaking this oasis is. I go to the Bodleian Library frequently to do research and it is like entering into an academic fairy tale:

My favorite, the Radcliffe camera reading room

My favorite, the Radcliffe camera reading room

Walking into the main library quadrangle, on passes through these ancient corridors
Walking into the main library quadrangle, one passes through these ancient corridors

Wrought iron fences protecting the entrance into an adjacent college
Wrought iron fences protecting the entrance into an adjacent college

The front of a tea room right outside the Radcliffe camera

The front of a tea room right outside the Radcliffe camera

Can I just finish by saying that I am so overcome with gratitude for the opportunity to get an education at all; I’ll be paying it all back in time with considerable student loan payments, but I think it has to be worth it because this is incredible.

Leave a Reply

